Genealogy Goals for 2015

Well it’s that time when many people think about making goals for the coming year. I know a lot of people don’t bother with this activity, but it helps me to feel like I am making the best use out of the years I have been given on earth. Lists and goals help me to focus my energy and achieve what I want to do. I am a INFJ in the Myers-Briggs Assessment, with an emphasis on the J, so I have many “to do” lists. I have lists for daily and weekly things that need to get done, a “master” list for yearly life goals, grocery lists, book lists (so grateful for GoodReads so that I can do that in an application now!) and of course genealogy lists of projects/goals.

So what makes the genealogy list for 2015? (I used the categories from AnceStories:The Story of My Ancestors – Key Genealogy Categories for Targeting Your Goals)

Research Projects (Targets)

  • Submit new/unproven ancestors James McNair and James McMasters supplements to DAR.
  • Get St. Louis NARA records for post Spanish-American War family members (WWI, WWII etc.)
  • Research southern ancestors – Hollingsworth, Turner, McCreary, McCullen, Graves families
  • Get to know Tennessee genealogy records (since I live here now) – I am going to use both famous/historical people who are buried in our local cemetery and try to find one of my ancestors (or my spouse’s) that passed through here.

Methodology

  • Legacy – all new or newly reviewed) records will be cited and documented correctly in Legacy
  • Projects – all projects will use a research plan and follow Genealogical Proof Standards.

Education

  • NGS Conference in St. Charles, Missouri
  • IGHR or GRIP – still trying to decide on Southern Genealogy vs. Land Records
  • DNA – Watch webinars/take classes to understand my DNA results and use to enhance my research.
  • Doing the Genealogy Do Over by Thomas MacEntee for the next 13 weeks

Preservation/Organization

  • If I follow the Genealogy Do Over topics, whatever I have is going to be organized!

Publishing

  • Blog at least 24 times in 2015.
  • Select a family research project to create a book to give to the family
  • Get article published

Fun

  • There is nothing like a genealogy trip – take trip to Alabama and Mississippi to research the Hollingsworth, Turner, McCrary, McCullen and Graves families.
  • Take a genealogy trip/conference with my friends.

I have again probably taken on more than I can realistically accomplish with what life surprises us with during the year, but by writing the goals down I will achieve much more than if I didn’t.

What goals are on your list?

Here are a few of the blogs I looked at when thinking about my goals:

This entry was posted in Genealogy General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Genealogy Goals for 2015

  1. Kate Johnston says:

    We’ll do our best to make progress on the NARA records in May, and that also gets the Education one, and maybe one under Fun, if I qualify as a research trip with friends???? : ) I’m also trying to do the Genealogy Do-Over (we’ll see if work gets in the way….)

  2. Hi Rachelle,

    I’m an INFJ, too. I found out when I was in med school doing an hematopathology research elective in 1983. The Chief of the department loaned me a book that was the first edition of “Please Understand Me” by Keirsey. The section on INFJ’s was pretty radical in the first addition as compared to the second. I liked the first ed better.

    Anyway, it’s rare to meet an INFJ, at least for me it’s been rare. Glad to meet you!

    All the best,
    Talmage
    http://www.storiform.com

    • Rachelle says:

      I haven’t read “Please Understand Me”, but have just added it to my GoodReads list. Of course being a INFJ I have to read it! Look forward to reading your blog.

  3. P. R. Paschke says:

    Rachelle,
    I love reading your postings – they are always interesting and informative! When you write your book, I’ll read it!

    Pam

    • Rachelle says:

      Pam, what a sweet thing to say! I hope I write a book someday….but whether it will be interesting to a broad audience is another thing. Hope your own research is going well.
      Rachelle

Leave a Reply

