My Ancestor Score: Quality vs. Quantity?

I have read a few blogs recently reporting their “Ancestor Score”. Randy Seaver did a Saturday challenge about it and Ancestry blogger Crista Cowan has a YouTube video on how to calculate your score if you use Ancestry as your genealogy database.

So, are you competitive? I like to think I am not, but I was a little embarrassed to post my score because it seems so low compared to everyone else’s.

Rachelle's Ancestor Score

Rachelle’s Ancestor Score

My excuses:

  • I stopped collecting hints for the older generations on Ancestry a few years ago because there is rarely any evidence that they are the correct ancestors. I only add a new generation if I have documents that prove it.
  • I have been doing deep research into individual ancestors which takes a lot of time. I have been working on Rev. John McNair all year (and this is my second pass at him) and there is no sign that I have exhausted all the material that is available on him.
  • I have done very little research across the pond in England, Germany etc. There has been so much research in the United States to keep me busy, I have saved the European research for “later.”
  • I need to travel to particular locations to get documents to break brick walls. e.g. Mississippi.
  • I have some really hard ancestors to find (insert whine here) like my Mexican/Spanish  migrants from 1870 who lived in Santa Cruz, California.

But my score is going to better next year….because I am just a little competitive.

This entry was posted in Genealogy General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

