Checking In, British Research and Planning for 2017

houseApologies for my blog absence these last few months. We bought a new house and all the packing, cleaning, moving, unpacking, arranging, repairs, shopping and a squirrel and woodpecker removal (we weren’t expecting that!) have occupied my free time. Happily, I have my own office in the new house, so I am surrounded by my book shelves, genealogy research and all the tools I need to be productive again!

I haven’t been completely idle and have spent my few spare moments getting grounded in English research to enable me to locate William Cork and Jane Dame ancestors. Here are some of the ways I have been getting familiar with the available resources, locations and historical events:

A Vision of Britain Through Time

A Vision of Britain Through Time

Which brings me to planning for 2017.  My general goals are to:

  • Take one or more genealogy trips for research
  • Go to a genealogy conference/seminar/educational class
  • Continue English research for William Cork and Jane Dame
  • Start at least one new project on one of my southern ancestors (undecided who) but it will be someone who lived near me and where I can easily travel to their location on a weekend to get records.
  • Complete a DAR supplement to prove James McNair was a patriot (this has been on my list 3 years in a row. Maybe this year I will get it done?)
  • Blog 15+ times

I want to do so much more, but I am trying to keep my goals reasonable, achievable and measurable. How do you decide what you will work on? How do you decide which project, how many projects etc.?

Wishing you a happy, healthy and genealogical productive 2017!

This entry was posted in English Genealogy, Genealogy General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Checking In, British Research and Planning for 2017

  1. Jill Morelli says:

    I will look forward to the 15 blogs. Hugs and a happy new year.

Leave a Reply

